Make custom fields deletable, and when deleted, data associated with the field deletes, too
Right now, one can delete the field values, and reuse the field. BUT, the data from the old field values remains in the contact data for anyone who previously answered the custom fields.
So when you reuse a field, and then send a broadcast, based on a customized field, EVERYONE who has contact data from that field (whether current or from before the field was reused) will get that broadcast.
According to 1SC, the only fix is to export contacts, remove the data from the old fields, put a space in those fields (as opposed to leaving them blank), then import the contacts again.
Ummmm... WAY to risky, and for what? Those custom fields should be deletable, and when deleted, all associated contact info should delete as well.